Label » [BNB 005] Beats In Progress - Crumpet Chase

[BNB 005] Beats In Progress - Crumpet Chase

The Fifth release in the "Sevens Series" from the Camberwell-based club nite/record label is seven inches of sleazy beats and cuts.


  • Cat#: BNB 005
  • Artist: Beats In Progress
  • Title: Crumpet Chase
  • Format: 7"/MP3
  • Released: 21 Jan 2001

Beats In Progress is a loose collective of artists brought together by Tufkut, a man well known on the london hip hop scene for his perverted sense of humour. Tufkut's love of, how shall we put this, "suggestive" vocal samples and lowdown dirty funk breaks is well represented on his first release for the Breakin' Bread label.


Side A "Crumpet Chase"

An up-tempo dancefloor groover. From the moment the horns drop in the intro, you'll know you're in for a bumpy ride thru deep basslines, rolling drums and even some latin beats! The Beats In Progress guest this time is Mr. Vincent, listen to him get his organ out towards the end! Go chase the crumpet!


Side B "Death Of 1,000 Cuts"

Beats In Progress delve deep into their boxes to pull out seven inches of pure dirt. Try spotting the myriad of film and tv stars who guest as part of the montage of 1,000 cuts. After that, move on to the second stage with a bit of break spotting! One for the headnodders, beat fiends and vinyl perverts.

"Sit back, relax and let yourself go!"



  1. Crumpet Chase
  2. Death Of 1,000 Cuts



You can find this release and more at:


Press Gallery