Label » [BNB 048] The Killer Meters - Freak

[BNB 048] The Killer Meters - Freak

The Killer Meters continue to build towards the release of their second album with a brand new single containing 2 more dancefloor monsters.

The original Meters hailed from New Orleans and virtually defined funk in the late 60's. The Killer Meters first emerged in 2005 with a stunning album of Meters covers and since then they've taken on the fantabulous Karime Kendra as a full time vocalist. This lady is a true phenomenon. Her amazing voice and electric stage presence is a family tradition. Her mother is the Northern Soul legend, Ty Karim, but Miss Kendra has more than earned her own formidable reputation. She's now rightfully regarded as one of the UK's best yet still relatively unknown soul mistresses. Her appearances on the Killer Meters first album drew a heap of plaudits and led to a lot of collaborations, most recently on Shawn Lee's underground smash album "Soul In The Hole" (Ubiquity Records). The forthcoming album showcases her at the top of her game and this single is a little teaser showing the styles she can attune that fine voice of hers to.


  • Cat#: BNB 048
  • Artist: The Killer Meters
  • Title: Freak
  • Format: 2x7"/MP3
  • Released: June 1st 2009

The Killer Meters were originally the brainchild of Virgil Howe aka Sparo a producer DJ who has released a number of mix CD's and albums on Scenario Records and a stalwart on the former London pirate institution Itch FM. Their first album led to 4 years of heavy gigging and and sessions with other bands. The almost constant gigging and playing led to them being perhaps the tightest funk outfit in the British Isles and also helped them develop their own sound. The first single from their new album was released in late 2008 and gave a taster of the psych/funk/fuzz/rock sound they've made their own. They felt that 2009 was the year they had to get back into the studio and they've been working hard on album worthy of their new sound.

The first single left many fans of their traditional Meters style funk sound a bit flummoxed. What was that rock guitar doing in there? "Freak" completes the picture. It's got some of the same fuzz going on but the drums hit harder and the keyboard riff adds some psychedelic edges. Karime tells us a story of going out and not being able to take her eyes off somebody "I can't take my eyes off the Freak………There's a diva inside needing some love…." Who's the Freak here you might ask? The band answer the question with each instrument taking a turn to freak out, culminating in one of the heaviest drum breaks made in recent years. This song has it all, late night tales, incredible vocals, incredible musicianship and it has worked on every dancefloor that the Breakin Bread crew have so far dropped it on.


The second track "Stomp" is a complete change in style. Here the KM's give a nod to 60's psychedelic swing records as well as the rolling drum breaks beloved of so many northen soul stompers. Kicking things off at a frenetic pace, Karime emplores us all to "Shout" and "Dance All Night". In double quick time (the tune is only just over 2 minutes long, just like a 60's pop record!) the song builds to a climax and we challenge you not to be stomping around by the end of it.

For added value the double 7" pack contains both vocal versions and 2 drum led breaks/dub versions for the DJ's who like to be creative. Once again the release is beautifully packaged in true Breakin Bread fashion. The double pack has a full colour sleeve with illustrations from the Brighton based artist, Sri.

As well as being great studio musicians, the The Killer Meters are super dope live. If you want to come and see the psych/funk phenomenon live come and check them at their residency at the Jazz Café (every other month on Breakin Bread nights, check for more info)



  1. Freak
  2. Freak Out
  3. Stomp
  4. Stompapella



You can find this release and more at:


Press Gallery


Related Releases