Label » [BNB 041] Lingua Franca - EP

[BNB 041] Lingua Franca - EP


  • Cat#: BNB 041
  • Artist: Lingua Franca
  • Title: EP
  • Format: 12"/MP3
  • Released: November 6th

Lingua Franca - a name you've probably never heard but a force to be reckoned with over the coming months.

The London based duo of deejay/producer Ghost and sweet soul vocalist Devorah met through a mutual friend while Ghost was recording his debut album Seldom Seen Often Heard (BNB 025).

Their styles complimented each other perfectly and soon after Lingua Franca was born.



  1. Falling Back To Her
  2. Feels So Good
  3. Treat Tonight
  4. Falling Back To Her (Instrumental)
  5. Feels So Good (Instrumental)
  6. Treat Tonight (Remix)


Lingua Franca

Ghost is an established UK producer and his uncompromising production style has made him a favourite of Mr Scruff, Gilles Peterson, Zane Lowe and Steve Lamacq. He is also an established deejay spinning everywhere from Glastonbury to Lithuania and he's been on compilations such as DJ Yoda's Fabric Live, has remixed and produced for Nicole Willis, Kashmere and Braintax and has an impressive number of solo projects under his belt.

Devorah has been compared to Jill Scott, Alice Russell and Joss Stone and has worked with the likes of Mawglee from Tru Thoughts and Jazzwank's Slip. When you see her live you won't believe how much power is possible from such a tiny frame.

Musically their sound is an eclectic mix of funk, jazz and soul occasionally dark but always packing a mighty punch. Lingua Franca can't be pigeonholed easily but that's because their sound is universal and will appeal to die hard groove aficionados and general music fans alike.

A 3 piece band has been formed to add new dimension to Lingua Franca's live performances, which are as impressive as their studio recordings. They have been doing a few introductory gigs in recent months playing at The Latitude Festival, Jazz Café and 93 Feet East to name but a few.

Their debut album titled 'Things Don't stay The Same' will be released in 2009 on Breakin Bread.


Press Gallery



You can find this release and more at:




Related Releases