Home » Label » [BNB 063] Ill Boogs - The Rhythm Den

[BNB 063] Ill Boogs - The Rhythm Den

Ill Boogs is one of the UK's top b-boys (break dancers). He was one of the founding members of the Floor Science Crew and he went on to become a key member of the legendary Born To Rock and Sinstars Crews.

The label first got to know Ill Boogs when he came down to the early Brixton club sessions (way back in 1998) held by the Breakin Bread crew,. Since then Ill Boogs has probably been to more Breakin Bread parties than any other b-boy in the UK.


  • Cat#: BNB 063
  • Artist: Ill Boogs
  • Title: The Rhythm Den
  • Format: CD/MP3
  • Released: 28th Feb. 2011

But he's not just a dancer; he's been making beats for MC's since 1991. Then in 2006 he sent a track called Gypsy Rock down to the Breakin Bread HQ. The track was made for breakin practice sessions and it got such rave reviews from the dancers that Boogs wondered if we might want to release it. We did and it went on to become a b-boy classic.

The track was included on a Rock Steady Crew mix CD put together by Skeme Richards called 'Bboy Essentials Vol II'. The track then got played at the Battle of the Year finals and The UK B-boy Championships.

Another 7" followed in 2007 (The Grump b/w King Conga) and Boogs got props from all the best B-boy DJ's in the world (DJ Tee from Japan, DJ Woodoo from Switzerland, DJ Renegade from the UK and many more all play Ill Boogs on high rotation!)

Since then Ill Boogs has been working hard on the album with the help of Disco BizKid, who features on most of the album. Now "The Rhythm Den" is ready to rock and it's like Ill Boog's personal Ultimate Breaks & Beats.


This is a culmination of years digging for break beats, listening and dancing to mix tapes from break djs all over the world. It's an eclectic mix of popular and obscure influences from James Brown to movie soundtracks and prog rock.

But these are not drum loops your hearing...lazy producers better go back to the drawing board, all of this album is played live! The tracks are all instrumental funk and breaks tracks. All tempos and rhythms are covered by Boogs and his band.

Being made by a b-boy the albums has a heavy leaning towards rhythm without being the same tired old break beats looped over and over. The only thing the tracks have in common is 'the break,' being a Bboy Boogs doesn't see the point in making a tune without one.

The album is being released in a mix CD format divided into four chapters and mixes to represent essential milestones in the life of a B-boy. Chapter 1 is Build Your Skills, Chapter 2 Paying Dues and Chapter 3 is a Visit to Mecca (NYC). The final chapter is a B-boy breaks mix. UK B-boy DJ's Timber and Rob Etch were called in for mix duties.

3 7" vinyl singles are also being released from the album. Individual tracks will be available for download from iTunes and all the other proper download sites. Now you've had the lowdown...

So 1, 2, 3... Let's rock!



  1. The Rhythm Den 
  2. On The Rocks 
  3. King Of Kowloon 
  4. Shanty Town Strut 
  5. The Drunkards Dream 
  6. Super Suede 
  7. Blackout
  8. Got To Work 
  9. Sole Survivors 
  10. Dusted 
  11. Sweet Jasmine 
  12. The Stone Garden 
  13. Tunnel Vision 
  14. Iron Horse 
  15. Deep Down Heavy 
  16. Happy Warrior 
  17. Gravy 
  18. Mr Fever 
  19. Intro 
  20. Interlude 1 
  21. Interlude 2 
  22. Interlude 3 
  23. Outro



You can find this release and more at:


Related Releases