Label » [BNB 045] Para - Smack My Pitch Up!

[BNB 045] Para - Smack My Pitch Up!

Para is the South West's answer to Cut Chemist!! His Mix CD is a fast and furious blend of funky beats and hip hop!


  • Cat#: BNB 045
  • Artist: Para
  • Title: Smack My Pitch Up!
  • Format: CD/MP3
  • Released: Feb 16th 2009

This mix takes the golden era of hip hop and gives it a fresh update for 2009. Para takes elements from classic hip hop tracks, layering new school beats over mid school hip hop music and adding classic raps. The result is a free flowing mash up that is held together by Para's skills on the blends, cuts and scratches. He keeps the dance floor in mind throughout the mix and maintains a steady uptempo groove from start to finish. Listen closely and revel in the attention to detail! Tricky stuff!

Para, a DJ and producer from Swindon, was introduced to hip-hop around 1988, having a local scene that was active in all elements of Hip Hop Para quickly learnt about the history and was instantly hooked. After experimenting with all elements he decided to focus on Djing.

Para began by making a series of Mix -tapes which he would hand out locally. These developed into a series of cut and paste mixes that took the idea of cut and paste to the next level.


One of Para's releases "The Saxton Collection" (put out in 2005) received great reviews in this country and across the pond and even earned the tag of "mix of the year" in some media. This was followed by "Feats per Minute" feat DJ Yoda, another cut and paste style mix that fuses snippets of records from many musical genres in an innovative and original style. His skills didn't go unnoticed ,one of his scratch tracks was released on "The Return of the Bomb DJ" which over the years has featured the worlds greatest Hip-Hop DJs. His love for digging breaks also led to the realms of production.

He surprised all his fans by joining the Breakin Bread roster in late 2007 to release his first production on 7". "You Never Change" turned heads worldwide with its sheer funkiness, dancefloor focus and mysteriously familiar vocal. Para is building towards an album release in 2009 with more 7"s in the pipeline and more mix CDs!

Para fits nicely into the Breakin Bread stable as another purveyor of quality, breakbeat tinged, funky as hell, dancefloor music.



Features elements of music from: Tribe called Quest, Grand Puba, Big L, Showbiz and Ag, JVC Force, Tuff Crew, Tim Dog, Black sheep, Cypress hill Sugar Bear, Leaders of the new School, Chubb Rock, Keno 1, Nice and Smooth, Intelligent Hoodlum, Cut Chemist Poor Righteous Teachers, Mighty Ging, Beastie Boys, 45 King Mantronix, O.D.B, Jeru the Damaja, Soho, Umc's, Main Source, De La Soul, Onyx, Brand Nubian, Michael Jackson, Funkdoobiest, Broken Keys, Blendcrafters, Organised Konfusion, Marc Hype, Double xx posse, Krs one , Ultramagnetic mc's, Sugarhill Gang, Public Enemy, Eric B and Rakim, Soopasoul, King Bee, Lords of the underground, Herbaliser, Masta Ace, House of Pain, Shawn Lee, Fu shnickens, N.W.A, Brand New Heavies, Epmd, Young Mc, Mc Shan, Run Dmc, Big Daddy Kane, Gangstarr, Wu Tang Clan and more...



You can find this release and more at:


Press Gallery


Related Releases