Label » [BNB 087] The Getup - Straight From The Hob

[BNB 087] The Getup - Straight From The Hob Released: 7th April 2014

Hammond Funk Band The Getup take their soul funk sound to the next level with their new album.

THE GETUP - STRAIGHT FROM THE HOB ALBUM LAUNCH - The Funk, Soul & Rare Groove Review 2 Year Anniversary at The Bussey Building

Following 4 stomping, storming and sold out 7" 45rpm singles on Breakin Bread this album shows just how far the band have moved on from their instrumental, Hammond led, quartet roots. The Hammond is, of course, still very much present, but the full album shows the band in a new light, with horns and percussion adding punch and power to an already up-front and in-your-face funk lineup, and Sabina Challenger's soulful vocals taking the groups sound to a higher plane.


  • Cat#: BNB 087
  • Artist: The Getup
  • Title: Straight From The Hob
  • Format: 7"/MP3
  • Released: 7th April 2014


  1. Straight From The Hob
  2. Get Lucky
  3. Sunday Roast
  4. What If?
  5. Nothing
  6. Where There's A Will
  7. Got to Get It
  8. Back to Me
  9. Cold Coffee
  10. Sugamama
  11. Ooh Ooh
  12. Bungle's Twanger
  13. Put It In Your Pipe

The title track Straight From The Hob was released as a B side to the band's first single for Breakin' Bread and received rave reviews from DJ's and the music press. "I played it to a bunch of breakdancers in Russia and they went mental" said the legendary Snowboy.


This is followed by a cover of Daft Punk's Get Lucky, performed in the bands own unique style with a drum break to die for. This track has got plaudits the world over for its authentic "hard funk" take on the tune of 2013.


Another powerhouse instrumental follows, Sunday Roast. Hammond and bass riffs lead into tuned-down rock solid drums, with guitar and clavinet joining in the riff party before the main theme kicks in. The sax solo will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, backed up by that by now stuck-in-your-head riff and some superb drumming.


What If? is up next, this was the lead track on the Getups 4th 7" single and Sabina takes centre stage again with funky verses and a solid four-on-the-floor chorus, percussive Hammond solo and a sampler's dream drum break. This is one of those tunes that just happened - written, recorded, and mixed in a single afternoon and now a live favourite.


There's just time for one more vocal tune, the bouncy Nothing, before the band drag the Hammond out of the room for a bit of a breather and dig the Wurlitzer electric piano out the cupboard to follow the horn lick on the next track, Where There's A Will. A rare thing happens here. A pretty out there trombone solo that doesn't sound anything like Fred Wesley! Not that we don't love a bit of Fred of course!

Group chants on the funky Got To Get It set us up nicely for the 100mph funk-fueled dance floor classic Back To Me. The sax solo lifts this track ever higher - but listen to the band behind it. This is Getup home turf. Tight, funky & energetic. Another horn laden instrumental follows, Cold Coffee which doesn't lead to 'Flat Cola' or 'Slightly Off Milk' but the bands first single and now a classic - a cover of Beyonce's Suga Mama.


By the time the last hit on Suga Mama has faded from your speakers, you're probably wondering what happened to the crazy Hammond quartet funk we've grown to know and love the band for? Well here it is! Two tracks of punk funk to get that adrenaline pumping. Ooh Ooh is a heavy Hammond reworking of the Whitfield brothers classic, which promptly leads to Bungle's Twanger. This will have anyone over the age of thirty heading straight for YouTube to catch up on their childhood days. Finally the band sign off with their party track masterpiece Put It In Your Pipe complete with 70s synth and hard dueling horns.



True heavyweights in the Hammond Funk category, The Getup are fast establishing a reputation for irresistible grooves, infectious melodies and energetic performances that have been shaking dance floors since 2004. They came to our attention due to a stunning set a two years ago at Breakin Bread's residency at The Blues Kitchen and we are proud to release their latest studio excursions.

The Getup sold out of their debut release, Getup & Groove (2007), within months and gained fans all over Europe. They released the follow-up album Life @ Cafe Eric (2008) to more critical acclaim and got a whole heap of live dates as a result. From major venues including the Jazz Cafe, the legendary 100 Club and St Paul Soul Jazz Festival (France), these guys have played almost everywhere to enthusiastic audiences.

The Getup's unique sound can be attributed not only to their influences Booker T, Charles Earland, Eddie Russ and many of those rare Funk 45's from the 60s and 70s but also to the list of groups it's members have worked with, including James Taylor Quartet, The Brand New Heavies (Linda Muriel), Sir Joe Quarterman, Gizelle Smith, Paprika Soul, Paolo Negri and Gene Drayton Unit. Add to this the band's dedication to an authentic, raw funk sound, favouring a REAL Hammond Organ, analogue recording equipment, sweltering vocals and hip horn arrangements, The Getup have found a sound that'll have you screaming for more.



You can find this release and more at:


Related Releases